Tuesday, 11 May 2010

Os 30 da Seleccao Inglesa/ English Squad

Jamie Carragher, Joe Cole and Adam Johnson have been included in Fabio Capello's provisional 30-man squad for this summer's World Cup in South Africa.

More StoriesCapello Index shelved until after Cup
Capello speaks to Eurosport
Liverpool stalwart Carragher, who announced his retirement from international football in 2007, returns to the fold to provide cover in defence with Gary Neville overlooked entirely.

Chelsea midfielder Cole has been plagued by injury for large parts of this season but his goal in the Premier League title decider against Manchester United helped convince Capello he is worth another look.

Young Manchester City midfielder Johnson is rewarded for his good form this season with a place on the list while his club-mate Gareth Barry is also included, despite currently being out injured.

Barry's inclusion means there is no place for Manchester United's Owen Hargreaves, who had been touted as a replacement for the City man despite having played just one minute of football in 18 months.

Shaun Wright-Phillips, Aaron Lennon and Theo Walcott will compete for a wide slot in Capello's final squad while Tom Huddlestone makes the initial cut in central midfield.

Michael Carrick's indifferent form this season has not deterred Capello from picking him and the Manchester United man completes the midfield line-up along with Steven Gerrard, Frank Lampard, James Milner and Scott Parker.

Tottenham central defensive pairing Michael Dawson and Ledley King both get the nod alongside Matthew Upson, with Leighton Baines, Stephen Warnock, Glen Johnson and Ashley Cole joining Rio Ferdinand and John Terry at the back.

Capello named five strikers with Sunderland's Darren Bent edging out Bobby Zamora of Fulham and West Ham's Carlton Cole.

Bent, who scored 25 goals this season, joins Tottenham pair Peter Crouch and Jermain Defoe, Aston Villa's Emile Heskey and Wayne Rooney of Manchester United.

Just three goalkeepers were named - Joe Hart, David James and Rob Green.

Capello will trim his squad to a final 23 on June 1.

Full squad list:

Goalkeepers: Joe Hart, David James, Robert Green; Defenders: Leighton Baines, Jamie Carragher, Ashley Cole, Michael Dawson, Rio Ferdinand, Glen Johnson, Ledley King, John Terry, Matthew Upson, Stephen Warnock; Midfielders: Gareth Barry, Michael Carrick, Joe Cole, Steven Gerrard, Tom Huddlestone, Adam Johnson, Frank Lampard, Aaron Lennon, James Milner, Scott Parker, Theo Walcott, Shaun Wright-Phillips; Forwards: Darren Bent, Peter Crouch, Jermain Defoe, Emile Heskey, Wayne Rooney.


No comments: